Drawings

In Field View, a plan drawing's purpose is to tell the mobile device user where he or she is physically located in the project and help the user navigate around a project, indicating the location of tasks, forms, issues, or assets.

Plan drawings in Field View are not meant to show the latest version of the drawings for a construction project, nor are they meant to be a complete representation of the construction project.

Within the Field View web application, when a location has a drawing paired with it, this is sometimes called "geometry".

Best Practices

Use the following guidelines when choosing which drawings to upload:

  • Simple - The best plan drawings for use in Field View are the simplest location-based view of the project. For example, the best choice for interiors of a building project is a single general arrangement drawing for each floor.
  • Labeled - Each location or room in the drawing that you want to track should have its own unique identification number or code on the drawing. If the plan drawing itself does not have identification numbers for each location, then you must decide on a naming convention that will allow you to quickly identify that tier/location combination when creating it in Field View.
  • No color - If possible, choose black-and-white plan drawings without shading or color. Shading and color can make the plans difficult to read on the device when tasks or forms are pinned to locations in the plan.
  • File Type - Plan drawing files must be either .pdf or .jpg.

Drawings in the New Web Application

Most of what you did in Classic Drawings is done the same or very similarly in New Drawings. There is no harm in switching between Classic and New Drawings. Classic Drawings will be removed before the end of 2020.

A few actions have been enhanced:

  • See Upload a Drawing to see how to drag and drop drawings into the Field View application, as well as browse for drawing files to upload them.
  • To see how to make and modify rectangles and polygons, see Calibrate a Drawing.
  • Deactivating a location automatically deactivates all its child locations as described in Deactivate or Reactivate Locations.

Videos

Watch this video series for a quick demonstration of most common tasks to set up locations, upload their associated drawings, and add calibration to those drawings.

Locations - add, edit, move, hide and unhide, and delete Location records in the directory (2:06).

Drawings - upload drawings, replace an existing drawing, and remove a drawing (2:42).

Calibrations - add, edit, and remove drawing calibrations (2:57).

Assets - add, edit, and delete Asset records in the directory (0:55).